SS Rajamouli wins RRR’s first major award, Best Director, at the New York Film Critics Circle.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

SS Rajamouli wins RRR’s first major award, Best Director, at the New York Film Critics Circle.

RRR, directed by SS Rajamouli, has made its mark on the international awards circuit. Rajamouli won Best Director at The New York Film Critics Circle on Friday, marking the film’s first major award. The New York Film Critics Circle, established in 1935, is the country’s oldest critics organisation, with members from newspapers, periodicals, and online publications. The awards will be presented at a dinner in early January.

The Telugu film RRR stars Jr NTR, Ram Charan, Alia Bhatt, Ajay Devgn, and others. RRR is a fictional story based on the lives of two Telugu liberation fighters, Alluri Seetharama Raju and Komaram Bheem, that was released in March 2022. The film grossed over Rs. 1200 crore globally.

SS Rajamouli nabs Best Director for RRR at New York Film Critics Circle -  Hindustan Times

Despite its enormous success, RRR was not chosen as India’s official entry for the Oscars in 2023. As a result, the producers used RRR in 14 categories as part of the ‘For your consideration’ campaign. The producers applied for the Academy Awards in the major categories. The RRR team has requested consideration for Best Picture (DVV Danayya), Best Director (SS Rajamouli), Best Actor (Jr NTR and Ram Charan), Best Supporting Actor (Ajay Devgn), Best Supporting Actress (Alia Bhatt), and other categories.

The New York Film Critics Circle voted ” Tár ” its finest film of the year, with Todd Field’s contemporary drama about a legendary conductor and composer also winning best actress for Cate Blanchett’s main performance. The organisation convened in New York on Friday to vote on and announce its choices for the year.

Colin Farrell received best actor for two performances this year: in Kogonada’s future-set sci-fi drama After Yang, in which he portrays a father attempting to repair his little daughter’s android, and in Martin McDonagh’s The Banshees of Inisherin, in which he is abruptly defriended by a longtime friend (Brendan Gleeson).

Ke Huy Quan was named best supporting actor for his performance in Everything Everywhere At Once, after his Gotham Award, and Keke Palmer was named best supporting actress for Jordan Peele’s thriller Nope.

The organisation is notable for dispersing awards over a broad range of films each year: Claudio Miranda’s cinematography in Top Gun: Maverick won an award as well. Charlotte Wells’ Aftersun was named best first picture, and Dean Fleischer-Marcel Camp’s the Shell with Shoes was named best animated film.







Cinema News



Leave a Replay


Some may see us as a troll/memes website, some perceive us as an events social media agency, others believe we’re a bunch of jobless media house but the fact is that over time we’ve outgrown all this. We’re, Idhu people yin media!

Recent Posts

%d bloggers like this: