‘We are delighted that MS Dhoni has agreed to mentor India during the T20 World Cup,’ said BCCI Secretary Jay Shah.

‘We are delighted that MS Dhoni has agreed to mentor India during the T20 World Cup,’ said BCCI Secretary Jay Shah.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed the 18-member Indian team for the T20 World Cup on Wednesday, raising several questions. Shikhar Dhawan and Yuzvendra Chahal were not selected, but Ravichandran Ashwin’s selection in the team after four years was a surprise. However, the most talked-about aspect of the announcement was the return of MS Dhoni to the Indian team, albeit as a mentor for the tournament. The former skipper guided India to victory in the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007.

BCCI secretary Jay Shah stated that he talked with the former captain in Dubai regarding the job of T20 World Cup mentor. Dhoni quickly accepted the offer, according to Shah, and stated that he was dedicated to helping the squad again, this time as a part of the support staff. BCCI uploaded a video on Twitter. According to Jay Shah, “I am pleased that MS has accepted this offer and is eager to rejoin our national squad. MS Dhoni will collaborate closely with Ravi Shastri and the other support personnel to offer assistance to Team India.”

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Shami

The seventh edition of the T20 World Cup will begin on 17 October with a Round 1 Group B match between hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea, followed by an evening match between Scotland and Bangladesh.

Ireland, the Netherlands, Sri Lanka, and Namibia will compete in Group A the following day in Abu Dhabi, with Round 1 matches lasting until October 22. The top two teams in each group will advance to the Super 12 stage of the competition, which begins on October 23.

The tournament’s second phase — the Super 12 stage – will begin on October 23 in Abu Dhabi, with the Group 1 match between Australia and South Africa. This will be followed by an evening match in Dubai between England and the West Indies. On October 30, England and Australia will square off in Dubai. The group will end on November 6 with matches in Abu Dhabi between Australia and the West Indies, and in Sharjah between England and South Africa.

The first semi-final will take place on November 10 at 6 p.m. local time in Abu Dhabi. Dubai will host the second semi-final on November 11th. Reserve days are available for both semi-finals. The championship final will be held in Dubai on Sunday, November 14, with Monday serving as a reserve day.


Also Read:

Shikhar Dhawan Posts Motivational Message Amid Divorce From Aesha Mukherji


Follow us on

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Also Read

Scroll to Top