Martin Guptill is on the verge of surpassing Virat Kohli in terms of massive T20I milestones.

Martin Guptill is on the verge of surpassing Virat Kohli in terms of massive T20I milestones.

Martin Guptill of New Zealand is on the verge of surpassing Indian skipper Virat Kohli as the greatest run-scorer in T20I cricket. Guptill, who hit a brilliant 70 off 42 balls in the first T20I against India, is just 10 runs away from being the leading scorer in the game’s shortest format. Guptill has 3,217 T20I runs at an average of 32.49 from 110 appearances. Kohli, on the other side, has scored 3,227 runs in 95 games. Kohli is not playing in the present T20I series between India and New Zealand, making Guptill the favorite to break Kohli’s record.

The second Twenty20 International match between India and New Zealand is scheduled for Friday at Ranchi’s JSCA International Stadium. The Rohit Sharma-led team is now 1-0 ahead in the three-match series and will want to grab the title from the Kiwis tonight. On November 17, India won the inaugural Twenty20 International match in Jaipur. The game was notable because it saw Rohit Sharma take over as regular captain of the Indian squad for the first time, succeeding Virat Kohli. This was also Rahul Dravid’s first job as Team India’s head coach.

In the first T20I in Jaipur, India defeated New Zealand by 5 wickets to take the lead in the bilateral series. The toss was won by Rohit Sharma, who chose to bat first against the Blackcaps. In 20 overs, Indian bowlers held New Zealand to 164/6. Martin Guptill and Mark Chapman were the only New Zealand batsmen to score, both smashing a half-century. Guptill blasted 70 off 42 balls, while Chapman hit 63 off 50. Deepak Chahar and Mohammed Siraj each took two wickets, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ravichandran Ashwin each took one.

In response, India chased the goal with a slight stutter. In the powerplay, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul put on a blistering batting display until the latter was bowled for 15 runs by Mitchell Santner. Trent Boult removed Rohit after he had scored 48 runs off 36 balls. Before Boult struck again in the 17th overs, Suryakumar Yadav had smashed a stunning 62 off 40 balls. India subsequently lost two wickets in short succession, but Rishabh Pant, who scored 17 off 17 balls, finally sealed the game for his team.


Also Read:

Anurag Thakur Provides An Update On Whether India Will Play In Pakistan For The ICC Champions Trophy 2025


Follow us on


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Also Read

Scroll to Top