Main Menu

What’s New?

Connect With Us

First MMSC Motorcycle Endurace Race powered by Honda

Read Carefully

The Chennai pair of Aravind Balasubramaniam and Kevin Kannan took the honours by not only winning in the Honda CBR 250 class, but also emerging Overall champions in the inaugural MMSC Motorcycle Endurance Race powered by Honda at the MMRT circuit, here on Sunday.

Aravind and Kannan, though, had to work hard for their victory in the Honda CBR 250 class and just about pipped the Karnataka tandem of Abhishek Vasudev (Bengaluru) and Anish Shetty (Hubballi) by a few hundredth of a second. Close third were local team of Prabhu Arunagiri and Anup Kumar. The top three pairs all completed 53 laps over two hours.

Aravind and Kannan also emerged overall champions and received a prize-money of Rs 40,000, in addition to an equal amount they earned by topping the Honda CBR 250 class.

In the Stock 165cc class open only to those under 23 years of age, Chennai’s Ajai Xavier and Amarnath Rajan topped something to spare while another local combination of Abhimanyu Gautam and AS Aleander came in second. The Kerala-Bengaluru pair of Akshay V Murali and Nithin S finished third. All the three pairs completed 51 laps.

The results (Provisional):

Endurance Race – Honda CBR 250: 1. Aravind Balasubramaniam / Kevin Kannan (both Chennai) (53 laps); 2. Abhishek Vasudev (Bengaluru) / Anish Shetty (Hubballi) (53 laps); 3. Prabhu Arunagiri / Anup Kumar (both Chennai) (53 laps).

Stock 165cc (Under-23): 1. Ajai Xavier / Amarnath Rajan (both Chennai) (51 laps); 2. Abhimanyu Gautam / AS Alexander (both Chennai) (51 laps); 3. Akshay V Murali (Kerala) / Nithin S (Bengaluru) (51 laps).

Overall winners: Aravind Balasubramaniam / Kevin Kannan (both Chennai) 53 laps.

Qualifying – Honda CBR 250: 1. Abhishek Vasudev (Bengaluru) / Anish Shetty (Hubballi) (04mins, 07.426secs – combined timing); 2. Prabhu Arunagiri / Anup Kumar (both Chennai) (04:08.802); 3. Aravind Balasubramaniam / Kevin Kannan (both Chennai) (04:09.309).

Stock 165cc (Under-23): 1. Abhimanyu Gautam / AS Alexander (both Chennai) (04:20.833); 2. Ajai Xavier / Amarnath Rajan (both Chennai) (04:20.834); 3. Varun Sobhan (Kerala) / P Mohan Babu (Chennai) (04:26.087).

About Madras Motor Sports Club

The Madras Motor Sports Club has been the pioneer in developing and promoting motorsport in India since 1953, and we look to further improve in the years to come. It is the club’s endeavor to provide more opportunities for competitors, and to this end, it has chalked out various progressive programmes. From the days of Sholavaram , MMSC built its own racetrack which was inaugurated in 1979 and secured its FIA Grade-2 international certification in 2014, making it the only club which owns such a facility that has been further upgraded with international-standard Paddock, complete with VIP hospitality suites, 20 spacious garages and a separate Paddock on the western side with its own circuit. The club has organised the Porsche Super Cup, Formula Campos, Formula Asia, Asian touring car championships, Formula 3, Tata Prima Truck racing championship, the FIM Asia Road Racing Championships (2-wheelers) besides a host of other motorsport events over the years. The club also has active participation for its events from vehicle manufacturers who also use the Madras Motor Race Track (MMRT) extensively for testing their products.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Recieve daily updates from the near-future.

By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy

ta_INTamil en_USEnglish